About the awards

The Premier’s Awards for Public Service recognise excellence in the delivery of public services to the NSW community by the public sector, not-for-profit organisations and private businesses. They were established by the Premier’s Department in 1997 with a single award focussed on recognising service excellence and achievements in the NSW public sector. The Public Service Commission (PSC) assumed responsibility for delivering the Premier’s Awards in 2012.

The award categories have changed from year to year to respond to government priorities. They aim to:

  • Encourage continual improvement of systems and services to enable resources to be used more effectively in the delivery of services;
  • Encourage a reflection on performance levels achieved and motivate individuals and teams to look at improving the way they work;
  • Recognise success and promote excellence; and
  • Promote the adoption of excellent business and management practices to enable the development and growth of a culture of continual improvement, innovation, reform and change.

In 2019 the Premier’s Awards has five categories to showcase achievements and progress towards the NSW Premier’s priorities.

The five awards categories are:

  • Building a Strong Economy
  • Providing High-Quality Education
  • Creating Well Connected Communities
  • Providing World Class Customer Service
  • Tackling Longstanding Social Challenges

Both individuals and teams can be nominated in each of the 5 categories.

The Anthea Kerr Award 

The Anthea Kerr Award is a standalone award within the NSW Premier’s Awards for Public Service. The Anthea Kerr Award is awarded in honour of Anthea Kerr, an Assistant Director General at the Department of Finance and Services who passed away suddenly at 38 years of age. The award is to recognise future public sector leaders who are under 35 years of age. Nominations for the Anthea Kerr award are invited separately to the 5 categories, and will be judged against a separate criteria.

More information about the Anthea Kerr Award